Skip to main content

ICES-Institute for clinical evaluative sciences

Scientific Advisory Committee

The role of the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is to advise the ICES Board of Directors on the quality, direction, scope, salience and focus of ICES’ work and review its achievements in light of its stated mission. The SAC also provides input to ICES leadership on research priorities and alignment as part of the strategic and business planning process.

The SAC is chaired by a member of the Board of Directors, and its membership is determined by the Board of Directors in consultation with the chair. On an annual basis, it provides to the Board of Directors a report on ICES’ scientific work and direction.

The membership consists of Canadian and international experts with combined scientific expertise that is reflective of ICES’ areas of research and strategic priorities. The SAC is comprised of the following individuals:


Harriet MacMillan, CM, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Chedoke Health Chair in Child Psychiatry
Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences and of Pediatrics, McMaster University
Member, ICES Board of Directors


Nancy Edwards, RN, PhD, FCAHS
Professor, School of Nursing, University of Ottawa

David Ford, PhD
Professor, Health Informatics, Swansea University, Wales, UK

William A. Ghali, MD, MPH, FRCPC
Scientific Director, O’Brien Institute for Public Health, Departments of Medicine and Community Health Sciences, University of Calgary

Alan Katz, MBChB, MSc, CCFP
Director, Manitoba Centre for Health Policy (MCHP), Department of Community Health Sciences, Max Rady College of Medicine, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba

Amélie Quesnel-Vallée, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

Carolyn Tuohy, PhD
Professor Emeritus and Senior Fellow, School of Public Policy & Governance, University of Toronto