Go to content

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.


CIHR New Investigator Award

2008-2013: Awarded to Dr. Mona Loutfy for clinical HIV research.

Lawrence S. Bloomberg Limited-Tenure Professorship in Critical Care

2008: Awarded to Dr. Louise Rose.

Clinician-Scientist Award

2008: Awarded to Dr. S. Joseph Kim by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research.

Silver Medal University of Toronto MD Program

2007: Awarded to Dr. Husam Abdel-Qadir by the University of Toronto MD program, class of 2007.

International Fellow

2007: Awarded to Dr. Linda McGillis Hall by the American Academy of Nurses. Dr. McGillis Hall was acknowledged for her research program addressing nurse staffing and the nursing work environment relative to outcomes for the healthcare system, nurses working within that system, and patient safety.

Master of the American College of Gastroenterology

2007: Awarded to Dr. Linda Rabeneck. Masters are recognized for their stature and achievement in clinical gastroenterology and for their contribution to the College in service, leadership, and education.

CIHR Clinician Scientist Award

2007-2012: Awarded to Dr. Lorraine Lipscombe for the project "Diabetes risk following breast cancer".

Premier Member of Honour Award

2007: Awarded to Dr. Shoo Lee by the Sociedad Iberoamericana de Neonatologia.

American Gastroenterology Association Research Scholar Award

2007: Awarded to Dr. Geoffrey Nguyen to explore racial disparities in inflammatory bowel disease (IBD).

The College of Family Physicians of Canada Family Medicine Researcher of the Year Award

2007: Awarded Dr. Moira Stewart. The award recognizes a family medicine researcher College member, who has made original contributions to research and knowledge building for family medicine in Canada.