Go to content

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.


Tier II Canada Research Chair in Rural and Northern Children’s Health

2005 – 2015: Awarded to Dr. Nancy Young at Laurentian University

CIHR Knowledge Translation Award

2005: Awarded to Dr. Jack Tu.

Ontario Ministry of Health & Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) Career Scientist Award

2005 – 2010: Awarded to Dr. Leah Steele for "Exploring, understanding and ameliorating socioeconomic disparities in ambulatory mental health service use".

Canada Research Chair in Health Policy

2005 — Awarded to Dr. Ana Johnson for a 5 year term.

2004/05 Innovators’ Challenge Competition

2005: Dr. Michael Carter was part of a team awarded first prize in the 2004/05 Innovators' Challenge Competition held by the Business Association of Stanford Engineering Students (BASES).

Ontario HIV Treatment Network Career Scientist Award

2005-2014: Awarded to Dr. Janet Raboud.

Chatelaine magazine Women’s Health Hero Award

2004: Awarded to Dr. Linda Rabeneck and eight other Canadians. The awards were created to applaud the hard work and dedication of women’s health experts in Canada.

University of Toronto Teaching Award

2004: Awarded to Dr. Matthew Stanbrook for excellence in clinical teaching in the respirology residency training program.

James Mackenzie Medal of the Royal College of General Practitioners

2004: Awarded to Dr. Moira Stewart.

Dean’s Honour List

2004: Dr. Lise Bjerre, Dean's Honour List, PhD in Epidemiology, McGill University