Go to content

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.


Canadian National Perinatal Research Meeting Early Career Researcher Award

2023: Awarded to Dr. Giulia Muraca.

Early Career Researcher of the Year – Public Health and Epidemiology

2023: Awarded to Dr. Daniel Myran by the University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine.

Polanyi Prize

2022: Dr. Kieran Quinn awarded Polanyi Prize in Physiology and Medicine. The prizes are awarded annually to early-career researchers making significant, ground-breaking contributions to Ontario’s research sector.

Officer of the Order of Canada

2022: Dr. Andreas Laupacis named a Fellow of the Order of Canada for his contributions to the field of medicine and to healthcare initiatives in Canada and internationally.

Early Career Researcher of the Year Award – Public Health and Epidemiology

2022: Awarded to Dr. Sarina Isenberg by the University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine. Read more

Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researchers 2022

2022: Dr. Peter Austin was selected by Clarivate Analytics as one the most highly cited researchers of 2022. In 2022, 6,938, or about 0.1%, of the world's researchers earned this distinction in 21 research fields. This is the eighth consecutive year for Dr. Austin to be honoured.

Alexander Leighton Award in Psychiatric Epidemiology

2022: Presented to Dr. Paul Kurdyak by the Canadian Academy of Psychiatric Epidemiology. The purpose of the award is to recognize a person or group that has contributed significantly to the advancement of Canadian psychiatric epidemiology through innovative studies.

Career Award

2022: Awarded to Dr. Raed Joundi by the McMaster University Department of Medicine.

Peter Garner Award

2022: Awarded to Dr. Jonathan Zipursky by the International Society of Obstetric Medicine for the best research presentation at the combined ISOM/NASOM 2022 Congress.