Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

Showing Awards and Recognition for Life Stage Research Program

  • Canada Research Chair

    2016: Dr. Jennifer Walker was awarded a Tier II Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Health.

  • Thomson Reuters’ 2016 Highly Cited Researchers

    2016: Dr. Jeremy Grimshaw was selected by Thomson Reuters as one the most highly cited researchers of 2016. These reports rank among the top 1% most cited works for their subject field and year of publication, earning them the mark of exceptional impact.

  • Presidential Scholar Award

    2016: Awarded to Dr. Hannah Wunsch by the American Society of Anesthesiologists for her outstanding career in research.

  • Claire Bombardier Award

    2016: Platinum level awarded to Dr. Kate Nelson. This award is given to outstanding students at the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, University of Toronto whose field of research is clinical epidemiology and health care research.

  • Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation (IHPME) Eugenie Stuart Award

    2016: Presented to Dr. Astrid Guttman. The award recognizes IHPME faculty who contribute to making health care better through outstanding teaching and mentoring.

  • Junior Research Chair in Perioperative Health Systems and Outcomes Research

    2016: Awarded to Dr. Daniel I McIsaac by the University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine.

  • Ted Freedman Award for Innovation in Education

    2016: Michael Campitelli was part of the ICES team that received this award in recognition of the project Quality Improvement at the Frontline: Improving and Driving Excellence Across Sectors (IDEAS).

    Read the award submission.

  • Thomson Reuters’ list of “World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds 2015”

    2016: Dr. Jeremy Grimshaw was selected by Thomson Reuters as one the "World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds 2015." This annual list names researchers whose published work is among the most-cited within the global scientific community, according to data analyzed by Thomson Reuters.

  • CIHR Canada Research Chair

    2016: Awarded to Dr. Jeremy Grimshaw for health knowledge transfer and uptake (renewal).

  • Order of Ontario

    2016: Awarded to Dr. Rob Fowler for his work with Ebola patients in Guinea, Sierra Leone and Liberia during a sabbatical year with the World Health Organization (WHO) in 2014.