Go to content

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.


CIHR Frederick Banting and Charles Best Canada Graduate Scholarship

2009 – 2011: Awarded to Dr. Salimah Shariff. The scholarship is awarded to students who demonstrate a high standard of achievement in undergraduate and early graduate studies.

CIHR Canada Research Chair

2009: Awarded to Dr. Jeremy Grimshaw in health knowledge transfer and uptake to study factors that influence the behaviour of healthcare professionals, and methods to help them use health knowledge more effectively. Read more about Dr. Grimshaw's chair.

CIHR New Investigator Award

2009-2014: CIHR New Investigator Award in Aging awarded to Dr. Susan Bronskill for Prescribing Quality in Long-Term Care Homes: Correlation Between Indicators of Overuse, Underuse and Misuse.

CIHR New Investigator Award

2009-2014: Awarded to Dr. Suzanne Cadarette in the area of aging and osteoporosis

British Medical Association (BMA) Research Paper of the Year

2009 — Frank Sullivan recipient of BMA research paper of the year award for New England Journal of Medicine paper on the Scottish Bell's palsy trial.

Eminent Scientist of the Year Award

2008: Awarded to Dr. Teresa To in the field of Pediatrics and Community Health Research, by the International Research Promotion Council (IRPC). Dr. To was chosen based on her research excellence in community health and her unique research contribution to the control of asthma. The IRPC presents the World Scientists Forum awards annually to researchers whose work has significantly affected medical care globally, especially in developing nations.

Martin J. Bass Recognition Award for Exceptional Contribution to Family Medicine

2008: Awarded to Dr. Moira Stewart by the University of Western Ontario Department of Family Medicine.

Dales Award in Medical Research

2008-2011: Awarded to Dr. Teresa To by the University of Toronto, Life Sciences Committee.

CIHR New Investigator Recognition Prize

2008: Dr. Suzanne Cadarette awarded CIHR New Investigator Recognition Prize for Improving Medication Use, Healthcare and Quality of Life through Innovative Health Outcomes Research

John Hastings Award for Excellence in Service to the University and the Community

2008: Awarded to Dr. Ross Upshur by the Dalla Lana School of Public Health.