Go to content

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.


Mentor Award

2020: Presented to Dr. Nancy Baxter by the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons Research Foundation. This award recognizes a member of the Society who has made outstanding contributions to the education and career development of trainees and other colleagues.

Canadian Association of Gastroenterology (CAG) Visiting Research Professorship

2020: Awarded to Dr. Linda Rabeneck. The award is presented to a member of CAG who is a proven teacher and an outstanding researcher.

Dr. Maurice McGregor Award

2020: Presented to Dr. Kelvin Chan by CADTH. The award recognizes early career rising stars in health technology assessment.

American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) Institute Council Section Research Mentor Award

2019: Awarded to Dr. Linda Rabeneck in the Clinical Practice category. The award recognizes outstanding mentors in specific research area.

Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute Legacy Award

2019: Awarded to Dr. Nancy Baxter. This award is presented to a senior scientist who exemplifies the mission of the institute of generating new knowledge and translating scientific discoveries to improve patient health.

CanVECTOR Fellowship Award

2019: Awarded to Dr. Keerat Grewal for the project "Venous thromboembolism in patients discharged from the emergency department with ankle fractures requiring lower limb immobilization: a population-based study."