Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

  • Fellowship, Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

    2013 — Awarded to Dr. Prabhat Jha. Fellows have demonstrated leadership, creativity, distinctive competencies and a commitment to advance academic health science.

  • Family Practice of the Year

    2013: Awarded to Lise M. Bjerre as a member of the Ottawa Hospital Academic Family Health Team by the College of Family Physicians of Ontario.

  • 2013-14 CIHR-IHSPR Rising Star Award

    Post-doctoral fellow Dr. Jay Udell is a recipient of the 2013-14 CIHR-IHSPR Rising Star Award. The Rising Star Award Review Committee selected the winners for their excellence in research and/or knowledge translation (KT), the innovation of their work and the potential impact of their work within the field of health services and policy research. For more details, visit the CIHR-IHSPR website.

  • 2013–14 CIHR-IHSPR Article of the Year Award

    Congratulations to senior scientist Dr. Dennis Ko as the recipient of the 2013–14 CIHR-IHSPR Article of the Year Award. The CIHR-IHSPR Article of the Year Review Committee selected Dr. Ko's article, “Prevalence and extent of obstructive coronary artery disease among patients undergoing elective catheterization in New York State and Ontario" for its relevance to health services and policy research, as well as for the extent to which it contributes to the advancement of this field of research in Canada and has an impact on policy.

  • Women's College Research Institute's Outstanding Paper Award (Trainee)

    2013 - Awarded to Jacob Udell

  • 2008-13 - Mid-Career Investigator, Ontario Women's Health Council/CIHR Institute of Gender and Health

    Awarded to Elizabeth VanDenKerkhof.

  • CIHR New Investigator Award

    2013: Awarded to Dr. Hsien Seow for "Improving home and community-based palliative care through primary health care innovations".

  • Jindal Research Chair for the Prevention of Kidney Disease

    2013: The Ottawa Hospital appointed Dr. Manish Sood to this prestigious chair for kidney research.

  • Outstanding Research Grant Award

    2013: Awarded to Dr. John Cairney by the Department of Family Medicine, McMaster University

  • Outstanding Research Mentor Award

    2013: Awarded to Dr. John Cairney by the Department of Family Medicine, McMaster University.