Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

  • Polanyi Prize

    2022: Dr. Kieran Quinn awarded Polanyi Prize in Physiology and Medicine. The prizes are awarded annually to early-career researchers making significant, ground-breaking contributions to Ontario’s research sector.

  • Officer of the Order of Canada

    2022: Dr. Andreas Laupacis named a Fellow of the Order of Canada for his contributions to the field of medicine and to health care initiatives in Canada and internationally.

  • Early Career Researcher of the Year Award – Public Health and Epidemiology

    2022: Awarded to Dr. Sarina Isenberg by the University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine. Read more

  • Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researchers 2022

    2022: Dr. Peter Austin was selected by Clarivate Analytics as one the most highly cited researchers of 2022. In 2022, 6,938, or about 0.1%, of the world's researchers earned this distinction in 21 research fields. This is the eighth consecutive year for Dr. Austin to be honoured.

  • Alexander Leighton Award in Psychiatric Epidemiology

    2022: Presented to Dr. Paul Kurdyak by the Canadian Academy of Psychiatric Epidemiology. The purpose of the award is to recognize a person or group that has contributed significantly to the advancement of Canadian psychiatric epidemiology through innovative studies.

  • Peggy Leatt Knowledge & Impact Award

    2022: Awarded to Dr.. Rick Glazier by the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation. This award recognizes achievements in developing transformative platforms of evidence that improve health care and health care systems.

  • Peter Garner Award

    2022: Awarded to Dr. Jonathan Zipursky by the International Society of Obstetric Medicine for the best research presentation at the combined ISOM/NASOM 2022 Congress.

  • Killam Postdoctoral Fellowship

    2022: Awarded to Dr. Tiffany Fitzpatrick

  • Royal Society of Canada College Member

    2022: Awarded to Dr. Sharmistha Mishra. Members are mid-career leaders who provide the Royal Society of Canada with a multigenerational capacity to help Canada and the world address major challenges and seize new opportunities including those identified in emerging fields.

  • Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Population Health Data Science for Evidence-Based Policy

    2022: Awarded to Dr. Antony Chum. Read more