Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

  • Dr. Fernand Labrie Fellowship Research Grant

    2018: Awarded to Dr. Calvin Ke by The Canadian Society of Endocrinology and Metabolism.

  • Excellence in Academics Award

    2018: Awarded to Dr. Phillip Blanchette by the Oncology Department, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University.

  • Connaught Global Challenge Award

    2018: Dr. Laura Rosella awarded $250,000 to launch a global network to advance innovative research and training in predictive analytics. Read more.

  • Faculty Teaching Award

    2018: Awarded to Dr. Janice Tijssen by the Department of Paediatrics, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, Western University.

  • Top 40 under 40

    2018: Dr. Laura Rosella named one of Canada's Top 40 Under 40. The annual list recognizes the achievements of 40 Canadians who have demonstrated remarkable success while under 40 years of age.

  • Frederic Newton Gisborne Starr Award

    2018: Awarded to Dr. Andreas Laupacis by the Canadian Medical Association (CMA). The highest award given by the CMA, this award honors those whose lifetime achievements serve as an inspiration to the medical profession in Canada.

  • New Faculty Award

    2018: Awarded to Dr. Andrea Simpson for her project "Minimally invasive gynaecologic surgery, endometrial hyperplasia and malignancy, and other topics in health services research." The award is given by the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the University of Toronto to support research time for faculty.

  • Bryce Taylor Mentorship Award

    2018: Awarded to Dr. Nancy Baxter by the University of Toronto’s Department of Surgery. The award recognizes faculty members who emulate the traits of Dr. Bryce Taylor, a former surgeon-in-chief at the University Health Network and associate chair in the Department of Surgery. Dr. Taylor was highly regarded for his mentorship of students, residents, fellows and faculty, and was considered a role model for professionalism in surgery.

  • Early Researcher Award

    2018: Awarded to William W.L. Wong by the Ministry of Research, Innovation and Science, Government of Ontario for the project "Developing policy models for viral hepatitis: integrating best evidence of effectiveness, safety, cost, and patient preferences."

  • Research Merit Award

    2018: Awarded to Dr. Angela Jerath by the Department of Anesthesia, University of Toronto, for the project "Postoperative care models and morbidity on patient and health system outcomes".