Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

  • Young Investigator Award

    2017: Awarded to Dr. Kelvin Chan by the Division of Medical Oncology, University of Toronto

  • May Cohen Award for Women Mentors

    2017: Awarded to Dr. Gillian Hawker. The award is presented by the Canadian Medical Association to a woman physician who has demonstrated outstanding mentoring.

  • American Thoracic Society Abstract Scholarship Award

    2017: Awarded to Dr. Tetyana Kendzerska for the abstract "Effectiveness and safety of inhaled corticosteroids in elderly individuals with chronic obstructive airway diseases: a population-based study"

  • Centre for Health Economics Research Fellowship

    2017: Awarded to Dr. Claire de Oliveira by the Centre for Health Economics at the University of York. Her research project will be 'Equity in the utilization of psychiatric inpatient care among patients with severe mental illness (SMI) in Ontario, Canada'.

  • CIHR-IHSPR Article of the Year Award

    2017: Tara Gomes received the award for the paper “Sensitivity and specificity of administrative mortality data for identifying prescription opioid-related deaths” published in CMAJ. The award was presented at the 2017 Canadian Association for Health Services and Policy Research conference in Toronto on May 26.

    IHSPR's Article of the Year Award recognizes research published in a peer-reviewed journal that has contributed to the advancement of health services and policy research in Canada. 

  • European Stroke Organization Young Investigator Award

    2017: Awarded to Dr. Amy Yu for the oral presentation "Effectiveness of direct oral anticoagulants in a population study of incident atrial fibrillation.”

  • Medical Staff Association Outstanding Clinician of the Year Award

    2017: Awarded to Dr. Chris Simpson by the Hotel Dieu Hospital and Kingston General Hospital's Medical Staff Association. This award honours medical staff members in good standing with five or more years of service who demonstrate outstanding contributions to the medical community.

  • Andrew Sass-Kortsak Award

    2017: Awarded to Dr. Kate Nelson. The award is given annually to the most outstanding young scientist in training at a post MD/PhD level at The Hospital for Sick Children based on publications, research projects and contributions to their programs.

  • Dean's Award of Excellence for Faculty, Lifetime Achievement Award

    2017: Awarded to Dr. Moira Stewart by the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, Western University

  • New Investigator Award

    2017: Awarded to Dr. Rahul Chanchlani by Hamilton Health Sciences for studying epidemiology and outcomes of acute kidney disease requiring dialysis among children.