Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

  • CIHR Fellowship Award

    2016: Awarded to Dr. Lauren Lapointe-Shaw for "Primary Care Follow-up After Hospital Discharge."

  • Ted Freedman Award for Innovation in Education

    2016: Michael Campitelli was part of the ICES team that received this award in recognition of the project Quality Improvement at the Frontline: Improving and Driving Excellence Across Sectors (IDEAS).

    Read the award submission.

  • Data Impact Challenge II Team Award

    2016: Awarded to Team Western, including Dr. Kristin Clemens for the best answer to the question "To what extent does re-prescribing and re-dispensing of culprit drugs contribute to the burden of adverse drug events presenting to Canadian hospitals?" and the Judges Choice Award.

  • CIHR-IPPH Trailblazer Award in Population Health Solutions

    2016: Awarded to Dr. Prabhat Jha for his research on global tobacco control. The CIHR-IPPH Trailblazer Award recognizes researchers who have substantially contributed to population health intervention research.

  • Heart and Stroke Foundation Emerging Research Leaders Initiative (ELRI) grant

    2016: Awarded to Dr. Jacob Udell. The grant supports emerging research leaders early in their careers.

  • Heart and Stroke Foundation Ontario Clinician-Scientist Award

    2016: Awarded to Dr. Jacob Udell. The award is given to clinician-scientists who have proven the ability to develop impactful research related to cardiovascular/cerebrovascular disease.

  • Heart and Stroke Foundation National New Investigator Award

    2016: Awarded to Dr. Jacob Udell. The award is a salary award to support new investigators who have demonstrated excellence in their pre- and post- doctoral training and wish to establish their own research laboratory.

  • Heart and Stroke Foundation Mid-Career Investigator Award

    2016: Awarded to Dr. Dennis Ko in recognition of his influential research related to cardiovascular disease.

  • Heart and Stroke Foundation Ontario Mid-Career Investigator Award

    2016 – 2020: Awarded to Dr. Douglas Lee for Program of Research on Outcomes, Treatment, and Evaluation of Care in the Spectrum of HF (PROTECT-HF).

  • Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation Postdoctoral Research Fellowship

    2016: Awarded $100,000 fellowship to Dr. Serene Kerpan for "Bringing together physical activity and culture to promote mental health for Indigenous youth".