Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

  • CIHR Best Brains Travel Exchange Award

    2013: Awarded to Dr. Anne Rhodes for "Sex and Gender Based Analysis in Suicide Prevention Policy".

  • New Faculty Investigator Award

    2013: Awarded to Dr. Janice Tijssen by the Department of Paediatrics, Western University.

  • CIHR-CMAJ Top Canadian Achievements in Health Research Awards

    2013: Awarded to Drs. Larry W. Chambers, Lisa Dolovich, Lehana Thabane, Janusz Kaczorowski, Karen Tu; and Michael Paterson and for their work in developing the Cardiovascular Health Awareness Program (CHAP). Designed to increase cardiovascular risk awareness at the community level, CHAP has demonstrated that primary prevention integrated with family physicians, community pharmacists, and community partners and volunteers can significantly reduce the burden of cardiovascular morbidity.

  • Chair in Housing, Homelessness and Health at St. Michael's Hospital and the University of Toronto

    2013: Dr. Stephen Hwang was appointed the inaugural chair for a five-year term. The chair is believed to be the first research chair in the world designated to study the health of homeless and vulnerably housed people.

  • 2013 - Does maternal stress influence the incidence of asthma in children?

    Recipient: Dhenuka Rhadhakrishnan
    Academic Medical Organization of Southwestern Ontario Opportunities (AMOSO), $65,000.