Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

  • The American Society for Bone and Mineral Research Early Career Excellence in Teaching Award

    2013: Awarded to Dr. Suzanne Cadarette. The award recognizes an individual in the early stage of his or her career (Assistant or early Associate Professor rank or equivalent level at a non-U.S. institution or in the clinical or private sector) who displays a strong commitment to teaching and learning in the classroom, the clinic and/or research laboratory setting.

  • Career Development Award in Prevention

    2013-2016: Awarded to Dr. Aisha Lofters by the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute for the project "Achieving health equity in cancer screening and prevention."

  • CIHR Knowledge Synthesis Grant

    2013: Awarded to Dr. Linda McGillis Hall.

  • Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

    2013: Dr. Paula Rochon named 2013 Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. Election to fellowship in the Academy is considered one of the highest honours in the Canadian health sciences community.

  • Academy Health Child Health Service Student Scholarship

    2013 — Awarded to Sumit Gupta

  • ICES Faculty Scholar Award

    2013-15: Awarded to Dr. Alejandro Lazo-Langner by ICES Western.

  • Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, Health System Research Fund

    2013-2016: Dr. Jim Dunn was awarded $1.9M by the ministry for "Healthier built environments: an oppportunity for innovation in mental health and obesity policy." This program builds on evidence that links features of the built environment to enhanced physical activity, healthy body weights and positive mental health, especially for vulnerable populations.

  • C.P. Shah Alumni Award of Excellence

    2013: Awarded to Dr. Vivek Goel by the Dalla Lana School of Public Health.

  • Sunnybrook Hospital Part-Time Teaching Award

    2013: Awarded to Dr. Karen Okrainec. The award is presented to a part-time or retired faculty member who is making a significant teaching contribution to the department.

  • AMOSO Opportunities Fund

    2013: Awarded to Dr. Janice Tijssen by the Academic Medical Organization of Southwestern Ontario (AMOSO). The fund was created to support local physicians with teaching and research projects.