Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

  • CIHR New Investigator Award

    2012-2017: Awarded to Dr. Lorraine Lipscombe for the project "The influence of diabetes on cancer screening and prognosis".

  • Honorary Chair Award

    2012 — Awarded to Mehran Anvari by the Society of Laparoendoscopic Surgeons

  • Eugenie Stuart Award for Excellence in MSc/PhD Thesis Supervision

    2012: Awarded to Dr. Teresa To by the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, University of Toronto.

  • Canadian Family Physician Best Original Research Article Award

    2012: Awarded to Dr. Michelle Greiver by The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) and their Research and Education Foundation (REF) for her article “Implementation of electronic medical records: effect on the provision of preventive services in a pay-for-performance environment”. This award is given for a scientific article published in 2011 in Canadian Family Physician (CFP) resulting from a research project developed, financed, and completed by the authors.

  • Excellence in Mentoring/Supervision Award

    2012: Awarded to Dr. John Cairney by the Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department, McMaster University

  • Labelle Lectureship in Health Services Research

    2012: Awarded to Dr. Irfan Dhalla who spoke on "The virtual ward and other policy-relevant trials in health care".

    Each year, the Labelle lectureship is awarded to a young investigator from any country who is engaged in multi-disciplinary health services research; is challenging existing methods or accepted ideas in health services and who will deliver a high-quality lecture that will appeal to an audience of broad interests.

  • Special Achievement Award

    2012: Awarded to Dr. Catherine Birken by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) in recognition of exceptional work in the Ontario chapter of the AAP.

  • CIHR Applied Chair in Child Health Policy and Services Research - Research Chair

    2012 - 2017: Awarded to Dr. Joel Ray. Visit the CIHR website for more information.

  • Canadian Society for Clinical Investigation Joe Doupe Award

    2012: Awarded to Dr. Philip Awadalla. The award recognize excellence in research training in the initial stages of independent investigation. The award is named in honour of Dr. Joe Doupe, for 18 years Professor and Head of Physiology at the University of Manitoba.

  • Magnolia Award

    2012: Awarded to Dr. Shoo Lee by the Shanghai government. The Magnolia Award is the highest honor awarded to a foreigner in recognition of his or her contributions to the social and economic development of Shanghai.