Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

  • President’s Award, North American Primary Care Research Group (NAPCRG)

    2011: Awarded to Dr. Rick Glazier

  • Rural Service Award

    2011: Presented to Dr. Ben Chan by the Society of Rural Physicians of Canada (SRPC). The Rural Service Award (RSA) was introduced in 2002 to provide recognition for physicians who have done solid work in rural communities over the years. The award is presented to physicians who have been members of the SRPC for 5 consecutive years and have served rural Canada for 10 years.

  • Poster of Distinction

    2011: Awarded to Dr. Simron Singh during Digestive Disease Week for "Use of PFS as surrogate endpoints in NETS."

  • Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship

    2011 – 2014: Awarded to Dr. Liz Darling by CIHR for her research project "The impact of the implementation of the Canadian Paediatric Society's guidelines on the detection, management and prevention of hyperbilirubinemia: a population health perspective"

  • Toronto East General Hospital Chief of Staff Choice Award for Research Leadership

    2011: Awarded to Dr. Louise Rose.

  • Robin Badgley Award for Teaching Excellence

    2011: Awarded to Dr. Laura Rosella by the Dalla Lana School of Public Health.

  • Chapnik, Freeman, Friedberg Clinician Scientist Award

    2011-12: Awarded to Dr. Antoine Eskander by the Department of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery at the University of Toronto. The prize is awarded to a resident/fellow (who is a postgraduate MD trainee) or junior faculty in the Department of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery enrolled in an MSc, MEd, MHSc or PhD program at the University of Toronto to pursue advanced research training.

  • CIHR Fellowship Award in Primary Care Research

    2011-2013: Awarded to Dr. Karen Tu for "Using Primary Care EMR data for analysis and research".

  • CIHR New Investigator Award

    2011-2016: Dr. Ann Burchell is the recipient of a CIHR New Investigator Award to study the dynamics of of the transmission of sexually transmitted diseases.

  • Commonwealth Fund Harkness Fellow

    2011 – 2012: Awarded to Dr. Robert Fowler for "Comparing Intensity of Care Received at the End of Life in the United States and Canada" which looked to quantify differences in intensity and costs of end-of-life care for Americans and Canadians over age 65. His measures included hospital admissions, number of physicians seen, admission to the intensive care unit, provision of mechanical ventilation, and receipt of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures. He conducted a population-based cohort study of all decedents in the U.S. and Canada, using a retrospective, 2-year look-back design between 2003 and 2011.