Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

  • Post-doctoral fellowship award

    September 1, 2011 to August 31, 2013 — Ontario HIV Treatment Network post-doctoral fellowship award recipient Tony Antoniou.

  • CIHR Fellowship Award (Health-Professionals)

    2011-2014 — Awarded to Sumit Gupta

  • Canadian Child Health Clinician Scientist Program (CCHCSP) Career Enhancement Program

    2011-2014 — Awarded to Sumit Gupta

  • Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation Physician Fellowship Award

    2011-2014: Awarded to Dr. Iliana Lega for "The impact of metformin on breast cancer survival."

  • Justice Emmett Hall Laureate

    2011: Awarded to Dr. Andreas Laupacis by the Canadian Health Services Research Foundation. The award is intended to recognize a person who has “contributed significantly to the advancement of health services research in Canada.”

  • CIHR New Investigator Award

    2011-2016: Dr. Baiju Shah is the recipient of a CIHR New Investigator Award to study the impact of language proficiency on stroke care.

  • Award for Research Excellence, Department of Family and Community Medicine, University of Toronto

    2011-2012: Awarded to Dr. Jeff Kwong.

  • Award of Excellence in Nursing Research

    2011: Presented to Dr. Linda McGillis Hall by the Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing (CASN). This award recognizes the individual accomplishments of a faculty member of CASN who demonstrates sustained research activity in a substantive area of relevance to nursing practice, education, and research or policy development, along with the ability to succeed in obtaining intramural and extramural funding for research activities.

  • Fellow, American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine

    2011: Dr. Angela Colantonio elected Fellow of American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine (ACRM). The Fellow of ACRM designation recognizes active members with an outstanding record of professional service to ACRM who have also made contributions of national significance to the field of medical rehabilitation.

  • Ontario Lung Association/Pfizer Award

    2011 – 2012: Awarded to Dr. Andrea Gershon for "Impact of pulmonary function testing on health outcomes of individuals with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease."