Skip to main content

Research Banner at ICES

Awards & Recognition

ICES brings together the best and brightest scientific talent. Many of our scientists are internationally recognized in their fields and receive national and international awards and recognition for their important work.

  • Ontario Ministry of Health & Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) Career Scientist Award

    2010: Awarded to Dr. Louise Rose for effective care and health outcomes.

  • ORION Leadership Award

    2010 — Awarded to Mehran Anvari by the Ontario Research and Innovation Optical Network for outstanding achievement and innovation using the ORION network and cloud services.

  • CIHR New Investigator Award

    2010-2011: Awarded to Dr. Geoffrey Nguyen for "Prevalence of asymptomatic venous thrombosis in hospitalized inflammatory bowel disease patients and screening strategies for their early detection."

  • College of Family Physicians of Canada Researcher of the Year Award

    2010: Dr. Richard Birtwhistle was the recipient the College of Family Physicians of Canada Researcher of the Year award to recognize the success of the Canadian Primary Care Sentinel Surveillance Network (CPCSSN) as a force for primary care research.

  • Early Researcher Award

    2010-2013: $100,000 awarded to Dr. Paul Nathan by the Ministry of Research and Innovation.

  • Tier 1 Research Chair Award

    2010-2014: Awarded to Dr. Greg Knoll by the Faculty of Medicine, University of Ottawa in Clinical Transplantation Research

  • Early Researcher Awards Program, Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation

    2010: Dr. Alan Forster awarded $140,000 for "The Use of Information Technology to Measure and Improve Health Care Safety." The Early Researcher Awards program gives funding to new researchers working at publicly funded Ontario research centres.

  • Lee B. Lusted Student Prize

    2010: Awarded to Dr. Beate Sander for outstanding presentation of research by the Society for Medical Decision Making (SMDM).

  • Kent Ueland Award

    2010: Awarded to Dr. Samuel Siu at the First International Congress on Cardiac Problems in Pregnancy for outstanding contributions to teaching, research and clinical care.

  • Nursing Career Research Award

    2010-2014: Awarded to Dr. Ann Tourangeau in the Nursing Senior Career Award Recipient category. The Nursing Secretariat at the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) supports outstanding researchers in the province who are in the various stages of their careers, to carry out independent research in nursing services in Ontario. The overall goal of the program is to facilitate the development of nursing health systems research personnel in Ontario.